Myfanwy the Mammoth
Over 30,000 years ago the Woolly Mammoth roamed the land that was eventually to become Anglesey. In 1864, whilst working on the Holyhead Harbour for the London and North Western Railway, a group of workmen came across what was subsequently identifed as the teeth and jawbone of one of these strange elephant like animals. Stored in the Natural History Museum they were returned for permanent exhibition at the Maritime Museum in 2006.
In 2011 the Captain Jesse Hughes Youth Club of Holyhead completed a unique collage made from numerous coins depicting the Woolly Mammoths in their natural environment. The Maritime Museum is privilaged to be able to display this special artwork.